12 December 2019
Review

Today, we review the Porsche Cayman GT4 and the Renault Megane RS Trophy R. Matt Prior and James Disdale take both cars to Anglesey race circuit for a track test to find out which is quicker: the Porsche pure sports car or the Renault hot hatchback.

The 2019 Cayman GT4 picks up where the old GT4 left-off, with a 4.0-litre naturally aspirated flat six engine rather than the four-cylinder turbo of standard Caymans.

The 2019 Megane Trophy R also does what its predecessors did: it's a front-wheel drive master, with a powerful 2.0-litre four cylinder engine, no back seats and is so fast that it's the front-wheel drive Nurburgring lap record holder.

Join us, then, as we find out whether the Cayman GT4 or Megane Trophy R is quicker.

READ MORE

Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 review

Long read: What is the future of driving for fun?

Renault Megane RS Trophy-R review

Join the debate

Comments
7

12 December 2019

And on a true road ?

?

12 December 2019

Same again only magnified. And that's before we start on the ownership experience. The Megane is undoubtedly a great piece of kit, but it needs to play in it's own league as Autocar should know.

12 December 2019

Interesting challenge, surely the Megane is a 1.8 not a 2 litre , as mentioned in the article. Astonishing that the 1.8 litre ,4 cylinder Megane can almost keep up with a 4 litre ,6 cylinder Porsche!.

12 December 2019

At circa 7:40 v 7:28 I agree the Megane's time is a mighty acheivement. But to compare apples to apples I think it would be wise to compare the upcoming GT4RS time with the Trophy R, given both will be 'track biased road cars'?whereas a regular GT4 is a road biased track car?

14 December 2019

The video when Autocar compared a Land Rover Discovery (4?) with a Toyota Land Cruiser in an off-road test. The LC went everywhere the Disco did, there was nothing between them. However, choose one to drive back down the M4 and there was nothing to think about. Both of these will be interesting to drive on a normal road in the rain at 2*C on their respective tyres but I cannot imagine the Renault having any refinement whatsoever. I'd like to think the Porsche has lots.

24 December 2019

Kohl’s Holiday Hours 2019,?Kohl’s?Near Me, Customer services Number etc? If you don’t know then, let me tell you are landed at the perfect place

?

26 December 2019

... the two cars being near same price. Guess why this comparo.

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

Latest videos

污污直播app-污污直播破解版永久免费版