7 December 2019
Review

Volkswagen says the new Mk8 Golf is the most sophisticated Golf there’s ever been.?And given it features an almost entirely digital cockpit, uses never-before-seen hybrid engines and boasts a raft of driver-assistance system, who are we to disagree?

But it’s also the end of an era. Volkswagen now sees its future in the pure-electric ID 3, meaning that although the new Golf will be the brand’s sales powerhouse for several years to come, as a concept it exists on borrowed time (not to sound overly dramatic).?Still, we’d expect this one to once again compete for class honours against not only its usual rivals from Audi, Ford and Renault but now also BMW, whose new front-wheel-drive 1-Series has impressed.

When the Mk8 Golf arrives early next year, will it still be the family hatchback to have? We drove a pre-production model in Portugal to learn more.

READ MORE

New 2020 Volkswagen Golf gains mild hybrid engines, new technology

Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI 2020 review?

35 million and counting: the VW Golf story

Join the debate

Comments
7

8 December 2019

Body colour door frame not padded out in the interior - cost cutting taken a step too far?

jer

8 December 2019

Its not until you get to exec cars thst it is coovered.?

8 December 2019

Despite all the compliments from the reviewer this Golf still looks really sad...

8 December 2019

Interesting disconnect between the car on the road next to the sea, driven by a bloke with glasses and a beard, and the commentary? by a cleanshaven chap.? I was distracted by the scenery which was different between the external and internal shots - once I saw the beardy bodie in the wing mirror, all became clear.? Now, what was he saying???

8 December 2019

There seems to be a lot of shiny plastic, and while showing us the dashboard, there were a lot of distracting reflections and glints.? Worse than on my current 7.5 Golf.

The touch controls are the worst bit about mine. I was glad to see that many of the controls can be actioned from the multi function steering wheel. Also glad to see that fully electric seat with what looked to be fabric trim, rather than requiring all leather.

Oh, and to follow on from my last post, the beardy bodie appeared at 03:46 and again later at 5:50 as the external view video was repeated - how cheap.

cdp

10 December 2019

Am I the only one thinking that the bit along the top of those screens will be full of dust? This will look awful very quickly.

cdp

10 December 2019

Am I the only one thinking that the bit along the top of those screens will be full of dust? This will look awful very quickly.

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments
Advertisement
Advertisement

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

Latest videos

Advertisement
污污直播app-污污直播破解版永久免费版